This is a “must read”…but I didn’t write it.

i’ve been inspired by a lot of different authors…a lot of different books and articles and sermons.

some i expect.   others are unsuspecting little surprises.   such was the case in this article.   here’s a small quote to excite your spiritual taste buds:

I want a church that includes fussy kids, old liturgy, bad sound, weird congregants  and—brace yourself—painfully amateur “special music” now and then.

Why?

Well, for one thing, when the Gospel story is accompanied by a fog machine and light show, I always get this creeped-out feeling like someone’s trying to sell me something. It’s as though we’re all compensating for the fact that Christianity’s not good enough to stand on its own so we’re adding snacks.

But more importantly, I want to be part of an uncool church because I want to be part of a community that shares the reputation of Jesus. Like it or not, Jesus’ favorite people in the world were not cool. They were mostly sinners, misfits, outcasts, weirdos, poor people, sick people and crazy people. 

you need to read the whole article.   it’s really short.   it’s really profound.   it will make your day.   here it is:   “is your church too cool?”

we’ll talk about it some more tomorrow.

10 thoughts on “This is a “must read”…but I didn’t write it.

  1. I love this article. I felt the beginning of the end of our church attendance at one of our previous churches was when the pastor had a signed placed outside the sanctuary which said that babies and toddlers were not allowed in the service and there was a cry room for parents who did not wish to put their children in children’s church. I guess the pastor found the “little children” to much of a distraction from his “authoritative” sermons.

  2. So can we dare someone to say “All misfits please rise for the reading of the verse” ? We could shed all the cool in a hurry.

    So does Rachel attend one of those cool churches and wants out, or does she attend a place like north point.

    I assume since she does not first hand describe sitting next to a guy in a tux or help Happy Gilmore’s caddy load the remaining food from a Super Bowl party on to his bike or crack a joke the last second before the start of Sunday music, Rachel must still be looking for uncool.

    I am starting to find myself blaming less the pastor, the money, the building, the programs at these “cool” churches. I am starting to believe it’s the people in the pews that are jacking things up.

  3. We should make a blog one week of the texts that fly back and forth over the congregation on any given Sunday. We can do it like we did the sin thing that one time where they are just anonymous one liners that we all get to guess who sent it.

    I think its pretty cool that our bass player looks like he is going to fall asleep at any point most weeks.

  4. Read Acts 2 again. I’m sure all those folks speaking different languages with fire on their heads were a major distraction..even the observers claimed they were drunk and we all know drunks aren’t allowed in church. Jesus placed children in the center of a crowd and raised the importance of children in the kingdom but we try to hide them. And then we wonder why we have to go to church seminars to get our churches to grow.

    And now i’m disappointed. i don’t receive any cool text commentaries during service. talk about creating a dialogue…whether it would be productive or not is debatable..:-).

    1. channing, i would be glad to post your cell phone number on the jumbotron right before my sermon, so you could be part of the club…

  5. I think sometimes we just text to see if someone didn’t set their phone to silent. I have tried to catch Buzzy’s or Mikes phone a couple of times while on vacay.

    And the time you need the thickest skin at NP is when viewing texts during a service. They may be the most brutal of all.

  6. So does anyone miss Ralph? I do for the same reasons as stated in this article…. You can’t claim to be part of the community if you exclude the unattractive parts… Nuff Said..

  7. Agree with this article, If I want to be entertained, I’ll see a movie…

    Focusing on the message and less on production values is always a good thing…

    Now, excuse me while I hit Black Out on all these Digital Boards…

  8. I think the ‘cool, hip, tough guy’ thing would have cycled out of favor if not for the ridiculous amount of media in the past 10-15 years. I’d like to poke fun but it’s not really funny.

    Now – uncool, unfiltered, unrehearsed is hilarious!

    I hope like crazy I remember to mute my cell or Ozzy will out me during the service. Brandon, your just wicked.

  9. I’m almost with you. Can’t jump on the ‘bad sound’ or ‘painfully amateur music’ bandwagon. Personal problem. 🙂 Great article.

Leave a Reply

