Letters to Holden and Nolan

H&N FBHolden and Nolan,

I’m pretty excited this morning.  I’m going to get to see you guys tomorrow.  You have no idea what it’s like for me and Mimi when we know we are going to get to spend some time with you.  We’re kind of like little kids getting to spend the day with our best friends…

When I was your age, I only had one grandparent…and she lived in another state.  I only got to see her a few times in my life.  My other grandparents didn’t even live long enough for me to meet them.   I’ve always wondered what their lives were like and what was important to them.

Your daddy didn’t really get to know his grandparents very well, either.  Mimi’s mommy and daddy died long before he was old enough to know them at all.  My mommy and daddy lived a little longer, but he didn’t get to spend very much time with them at all.

I wish my mommy and daddy would have lived longer.  They would have been so proud of your daddy.  I wish they could have watched him grow up…and seen him play ball…and heard him play the guitar…and cheered for him as he got his diploma and walked down the aisle when he married your mommy.

I wish they could have seen what kind of man he’s become and what he has done with his life…what a great teacher and father he has become.  I wish they could have seen the two beautiful little boys he is raising.  They would both be crying with joy.

I also wish he could have known them.  I wish he could have heard their stories and asked them questions about what life was like as they grew up.  It wouldn’t have bothered even if they would have have told him stories about me, when I was growing up…no matter how embarrassing it would have been for me.

This is one of the reasons I write to you guys.

None of us has a guarantee how long we will live.  Our days on earth are numbered.  You can’t understand that now, but it won’t be long until you have to face some of the difficult things in life.   As weird as this sounds, I hope I’m around to hold your hand and pray with you when you face your first broken heart.

I hope I get to see you score your first goals and get your first base hits and hear your first music performances.   I hope I live long enough to see you walk down aisles on the most important days of your lives.  And I hope I get to be around you when you are old enough to let me tell you what are the most important things in life to me.

I don’t know exactly what my life will look like as time passes, but I hope we will get to walk some of the same paths together.  I love where God leads me and it would be pretty awesome to tell you what it’s been like.

I hope you will never fear the future.  I don’t.

Grow wise, grasshoppers.

Papi

One thought on “Letters to Holden and Nolan

  1. I love your letters to Holden and Nolan. The words and wisdom that you’ve taken the time to pass on to them will be treasured, no doubt. They’ve got a wonderful set of grandparents, the kind some only dream of having.

Leave a Reply

