Hello, again.

Hello againWell, I guess you could say the reports of my blog-death have been greatly exaggerated.

It is not dead.  It is aliveand so am I.

Thanks to the few of you that noticed and gave me words of encouragement to write again.  To those of you that heckled or tried to shame me into writing again, I suppose I should thank you also.   And to those that don’t care one way or the other, you might understand my hiatus better than most.

For the past month, there has not been a day that I haven’t sat at my computer and thought I should be writing.  I’ve even attempted a few times and just ended up deleting it.

Sometimes I didn’t feel like writing.  Other times I was too busy with other things.  There were days I completely forgot until it was too late and I was too tired.  Sometimes I thought I had writer’s block.  Yeah, right.  I don’t even know what writer’s block is.

The truth is, I just haven’t had anything to say.

About a month ago, I started following a couple of blogs that really captured my attention.  Then it turned into a multiple-times-per-day habit to check in and see what was being said, both on the blog and in the comment section.  I would follow related links and wait in anticipation for new posts.  It was like I was hooked.

Now that the near-obsession is under control, I can look back and see some things.

There is a lot of noise out there.  There are ridiculous amounts of people writing, talking, teaching, speculating, advocating, blow-harding, pontificating andbloggingabout anything.  About everything.  About nothing.

And I just didn’t feel like adding to the void.

Everything I thought about writing was already being said.  I would attempt to put my “spin” on it, but all it ended up looking and feeling like was more noise.

So I just decided to shut up until I had something to say.

That day will come again.  Soon, I hope.

Until then, I will slowly begin writing.  Not about anything life-changing (as if that happened very often in the past!).  But I have decided to let you in a little on what I’m doing right now.

If you didn’t know already, I’m in India.  I’m here for two weeks teaching a couple of classes at Lakeview Bible College and Seminary in Chennai (which used to be called Madras).  I was here 23 years ago.  It’s good to be back.

So over the next couple of weeks, I’ll try to give you an insider’s view of a padre in India.

Like I saidreports of my blog-death have been greatly exaggerated.

Here’s where I’m staying for the two weeksupper floor, fourth window from the end.  I’ll send some pics from the inside later.

IMG_1420

Here’s where I teach each day.  Pretty cool building…

IMG_1421

2 thoughts on “Hello, again.

Leave a Reply

