Marriage Tuesday

marriage 2I don’t know if things are getting worse, or if I am just becoming more sensitive to the words and behaviors of people who claim to be followers of Jesus.

Maybe I just read too much.

For most of my life, I’ve heard people (pastors, Bible-teachers, authors, conference speakers, and rank-and-file-know-it-alls) say the only people who can really have healthy marriages are Christians.  I don’t agree.

I have been around married folks my whole life and I have seen some pretty good marriages.  Some were atheists.  Some were Jews.  Some were Muslims.  Some were Catholic mystics.  Some were Mormons.

They all share some common characteristics.  They communicate with each other.  They divide up the responsibilities.  They forgive each other.  They play together.  They hope and dream and laugh and serve and give.

And you don’t have to be a follower of Jesus to do those things.

And if you are, you still have to communicate with each other.  You still need to share responsibilities.  You still need to forgive and play and hope and dream and laugh and serve and give.  Jesus is not a genie in a bottle.  He’s not the supernatural band-aid that fixes all the problems.

Are you doing the things that grow healthy marriages?  Or are you just going through the motions?

Anybody can do that.

Leave a Reply

