Choices

choices 2“I never met a situation where I didn’t have a choice.” – heard on a TV commercial tonight.

This statement may not be absolutely true for every person in every possible situation, but for most everybody in most every situation they find themselves in, this statement is true to the core.

“He made me do it.”

“It’s her fault.”

“You make me sooo mad.”

“I just couldn’t say no.”

“You don’t know what it was like growing up in my family.”

“I’m just so tired of this situation.”

“What do you expect?”

“The pressure just got to me.”

“Come on.  You would have done the same thing.”

I can remember times of thinking in my heart, when I was younger, “I couldn’t help myself”, while trying to justify a poor decision I had just made.  Really?  I couldn’t help myself?  Lie.

There are always other options.  Sometimes they are not great ones, but other possibilities exist.  Better choices.  Better decisions.   How you find them and how you make them is probably another story, but they are out there.

Today, in our continuing study through Romans, we arrived at the beginning of chapter 6:

What shall we say, then? Shall we go on sinning so that grace may increase?  By no means! We are those who have died to sin; how can we live in it any longer?  6:1-2 NIV

or how about this version:

So what do we do? Keep on sinning so God can keep on forgiving? I should hope not! If we’ve left the country where sin is sovereign, how can we still live in our old house there?  6:1-2 MSG

Man, talk about getting down to basics.  There has been a big stink out in the greater church world in recent weeks about the difference between a sin and a mistake.   I’m not joining the fracas.  It’s really pretty simple.

You always have a choice.

Bad choices lead to mistakes.

Mistakes will lead to sin.

Paul’s answer to sin?  Stop it.  Quit taking advantage of God’s grace because you know He’ll forgive you.

Better yet?  Stop being a slave to poor choices and start exercising your freedom to move beyond self-centeredness.

Leave a Reply

