20 Minutes.

I know most people don’t have an extra 20 minutes laying around.  I know I don’t.  But I’m glad I made the time.  My life is better for it.  Yours will be, too.

Bono is the lead singer and main songwriter for the band U2.  You may have heard of them, if you haven’t been living under a rock since the early 80’s.  Bono’s faith has been critiqued and judged by both the mainstream media, as well as most all branches of the Church…from left to right and all points in between.

He is a hero and example, of sorts, for me.

Eugene Peterson is a retired pastor (29 years in the same church), theologian, professor, author, and husband.  He is most well-known as the author of The Message, the popular contemporary language paraphrase of the Bible.

He is also a hero and example, of sorts, for me.

The following video is a mini-documentary of the unlikely friendship between Bono and Peterson.  It has already been viewed nearly 400,000 times on YouTube.  If you haven’t already, you should add yourself to that list.  Really.

The second video is from U2: Live at Red Rocks (1983).  This was the concert that turned youth ministry upside down for me.  This song is Bono’s interpretation of Psalm 40.  (If you want a little more recent version, you can check it out here.

Twenty minutes.  That’s all.

One thought on “20 Minutes.

Leave a Reply

