Theology for Grasshoppers

Grasshoppers 4(For the uninitiated, “Theology for Grasshoppers” is my attempt to tell my story of faith to my grandkids.  I hope I’m around long enough to tell them personally.  But just in case I reach the finish line before I get the opportunity, these letters will be the record of what I believe and why I believe it…in words and stories they can understand.)

Hey there, Farrasprouts!

Sooo, what do pink socks, a miniature Batman, Superman, Darth Vader, Chewbacca, and a ninja warrior, a baseball, a minion fan/candy carrier, a squirt gun, plastic eggs, sour gummy worms, a bow, assorted rocks, and a stuffed rabbit have in common?

Those are all your little leftovers of fun that seem to live permanently on the floorboard of Mimi’s grammamobile…things I don’t ever seem too much in a hurry to clean up.  I saw them all again this afternoon and they made me happy.

And they make you guys happy, too.  Life is so simple for you right now.

I think a lot about what you guys are going to be like as you grow up.  What are the things that will make you happy?  Where will you invest your most important time and energy? What will stir your hearts? What will be your passion?

The world is at your fingertips.  There’s no telling what you will do with your lives.  I hope I’m still around to see it.

But what you end up doing is not what’s most important to me.  

I bet you will get really good at doing some things.  You may rock it at sports or become great writers or singers or get fascinated with medicine or cars or law.  Who knows?  But before any of those things can take on any lasting meaning, there’s something else that will always matter way more than talent or education or experience.

It’s called character.

WHO you are will always be more important than WHAT you do.

Character is about heart.  Character is about what kind of person you are on the inside. Character is certainly about how you treat people, and choices you make with your time, and your responses in times of struggle and frustration.  But it’s even more than that.

Character is about who you are when nobody’s looking.  Character is about what you do and think about in secret.  Character is about standing UP to wrong, even when it hurts your reputation.  Character is standing FOR those who need help.  Character is about being the right KIND of person.

Character isn’t always popular, but it is always pleasing to the One who matters most.

Way back when I was your age, I was taught to try to live by the Bible verse that says, “Always think about things the way that Jesus would think about things.”  Philippians 2:5 (*FFT)

I promise, if you do that, you will never be sorry and your lives will turn out pretty awesome, no matter what path you end up walking down!

Be Wise, Grasshoppers.

Papi
(*Farra Filtered Translation)

2 thoughts on “Theology for Grasshoppers

  1. Another excellent post, and I wish that every ones grandfather had expressed that same point, including our current President. James Boyer

  2. Mike I’m going to make this required reading and discussion for our three boys here at home. or maybe i should say all 5 males in our house. such a great way of saying this Mike. And whats even better, I needed this as well. Thank you for shining the “light of the lamp” on my family’s path in so many instances. We love you and family. thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

