A surprise redemption

ThinkingAt 4:15 this afternoon, I put on my workout clothes to go the gym for my dreaded old man sweatfest.  I had even put on my back brace and both knee braces.  I was pumped.

At 9:20, I finally got there.  Hey.  At least I made it.  So, I got on the treadmill, put my earbuds in, and decided to plug into one of the house television monitors, instead of my iPod.

I generally make it habit to avoid CNN and Fox News, especially the personality-driven programs.  It always feels like they exist to pour fuel on the fire.  But there was some pretty big stuff happening on Capital Hill today, so I thought I’d give it a listen and hear what the pundits were saying.

After 25-30 minutes, I plugged back into my iPod.  I was weary.  Both stations were attempting to feed into my baser nature, trying to touch my fears and my prejudices. Neither station was innocent.  Neither station took anything that resembled the “high road”.

So it was time for music.

I don’t normally put my iPod on shuffle, but that’s where I landed when I turned it on. The first two songs that came up were mysterious gifts…messages that I needed to hear right at that moment.

The first was “Alive”, by P.O.D.   It might be just me, but the world would be a little better off if people listened to some P.O.D. everyday.

The second was “All Creatures of our God and King”, Crowder version.

All creatures of our God and King
Lift up your voice and with us sing
Oh, praise Him
Alleluia…

Let all things their creator bless
And worship Him in humbleness
Oh, praise Him
Alleluia

The contrast of the moment, did not slip past me.  I am still one who believes that Jesus’ words trump any commentary or cultural interpretation I hear.  God is always present, even in the madness.  Praise is the only real antidote.

My evening was redeemed.

For your listening and viewing pleasure:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.